Organization and their Headquarters with Complete Information

International organizations and their headquarters of Asia Region

International organizations and their headquarters are asked in the various exams in which we have put the organizations which are in the Asia region. There are many organizations around the world which are important for the exams, which will be covered in the next blog.

Aspirants who are preparing for the government exam can expect one to two questions for the organization and headquarter topic as it is clearly mentioned in the syllabus of the SSC and Railways exams like NTPC and Group D. It  is  also helpful for the students preparing for UPSC and State PCS as we help try to provide all the information about the organization.

Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO)

SCO- Shanghai Cooperation Organization

Formation: 15 June 2001

Headquarters: Beijing, China

Official Language: Chinese and Russian

Secretary General: Vladimir Imamovich Norov

Founder Members: Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan.

Uzbekistan joined in 2001, India and Pakistan Joined in 2017.

And the newest member is Iran Joined in 2021.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization has included the Statue of Unity among the ‘Eight Wonders of the SCO.

(RATS) Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure group Established by SCO to combat terrorism, separatism and extremism.

The 6th Edition of SCO Exercise Peaceful Mission : 2021 hosted by Russia.

Meeting of SCO:

2020: held in Russia by Video Conference.

2021: held in Tajikistan capital Dushanbe.

2022 will be held in Uzbekistan.


BRICS imageBRICS is the acronym of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

The BRIC grouping’s 1st formal summit, also held in Yekaterinburg, commenced on 16 June 2009.

South Africa joined BRIC in December 2010 and it name changed to BRICS

Head is declared every year by those countries who host. In 2021 India hosted the meeting Virtually. And in 2022 China will host it. The hosting countries are in serial wise as the letter that come in the word BRICS.

New Development Bank

Founded during the Sixth BRICS Summit in Fortaleza (2014), the leaders of BRICS nations signed the Agreement establishing the New Development Bank. It is also known as the Fortaleza declaration.

New Development Bank Headquarters: Shanghai, China.

Mr. Marcos Prado Troyjo of Brazil is the current President of NDB.

At present BRICS nations are the members of NDB or it can be called as the bank of BRICS.

But all members of the United Nations can be members of the NDB but the share of the BRICS nations should be more than 55%.

The Bank will provide technical and financial assistance for projects to be supported by the NDB and engage in information, cultural and personal exchange with the purpose of contributing to the achievement of environmental and social sustainability.

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

APEC Image

APEC is an intergovernmental forum for 21 member economies in the Pacific Rim that promotes free trade throughout the Asia-Pacific region.

Establishment: 1989 and founded by Bob Hawke.

Headquarter: Singapore.

First meeting: Canberra, Australia (1989)

Meeting: 2021 in New Zealand headed by Jacinda Ardern and the 2022 meeting will be hosted by Thailand

India is not the member of this group.

South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

SARCS image

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is the regional intergovernmental organization and geopolitical union of states in South Asia.

Headquarters: Kathmandu, Nepal.

Secretary General: Esala Ruwan Weerakoon

Establishment in Dhaka Bangladesh on 8 December 1985.

Rajiv Gandhi was the Prime Minister of India at the time of its formation.

The members of the SAARC are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri-Lanka.

Afghanistan joined as a SAARC member in 2007.

This year SAARC meeting was not conducted as Pakistan wanted the Taliban to also take part in the meeting.



The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation is a regional organization comprising seven Member countries. All the countries that share an important border or trade along the Bay of Bengal are the member of this organization.

The members are Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri-Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan.

It was formed on 1997 in Bangkok, with the founding member were Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. The headquarters is in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

The First summit was held in Bangkok so it is also called the Bangkok declaration.

In February 2004, Nepal and Bhutan became its members.

On 31st July 2004, in the first summit the grouping was renamed as BIMSTEC.


ASEAN Nation image

Association of SouthEast Asian Nations (ASEAN ) formed on 8 August 1967 and its headquarter is in Jakarta, Indonesia.

ASEAN works under the banner of cooperative peace and shared prosperity, work on economic cooperation, the promotion of trade among ASEAN countries and between ASEAN members and the rest of the world, and programs for joint research and technical cooperation among member governments.

Total 10 members: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand (founding Members), Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam.

The first summit was held in Bali.

Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Asian Development Bank was   formed on 19 December 1966. Its Headquarters is in Manila, Philippines.

Masatsugu Asakawa is the President and  the chairman of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and Ashok Lavasa is the Vice President of the Asian Development Bank.

From 31 members at its establishment in 1966, ADB has grown to encompass 67 members, of which 48 are from within Asia and the Pacific and 19 outside.

The Asian Development Bank aims for an Asian and Pacific free from Poverty. Its mission is to help developing member countries reduce poverty and improve the quality of life of their people. As a multilateral development finance institution, ADB provides: loans, Technical assistance, grants.

India was a founding member of the ADB and is now the fourth largest shareholder.

Leave a Comment