The Prime Minister and Union Minister of India| For UPSI and Railway

In this blog, we have tried to put all the information of the Prime Minister of India and the Question that can be asked from the topic of the Prime Minister and Union Minister, for the exam like SSC Railways and all the state level exam. If you will through this article you will able to answer the maximum question asked from this topic.

The Prime Minister of India Notes

Shri Narendra Damodardas Modi is serving as the 14th and present prime minister of India since 2014. Now his second term as a Prime Minister is going on.

Narendra-Modi image

In the scheme of the parliamentary system of government provided by the constitution, the President is the nominal executive authority and the Prime Minister is the real executive authority. The President is the head of the state while PM is the head of the government.

Appointment of the Prime Minister

Article 75 says that the Prime Minister shall be appointed by the President. The President appoints the leader of the majority party in the Lok Sabha as the Prime Minister. But, when no party has a clear majority in the Lok Sabha, then the President may exercise his personal discretion in the selection and appointment of the PM( Prime Minister ). The Oath of Prime Minister is taken by the President.

Tenure Of Prime Minister of India

The Prime Minister is elected for 5-year if the Lok Sabha is not dissolved.

The term of the PM is not fixed and he holds office during the pleasure of the president. So long as the PM enjoys the majority support in the Lok Sabha, he cannot be dismissed by the President. However, if he loses the confidence of the Lok Sabha, he must resign or the President can dismiss him.

Powers and function of Prime Minister

  • He recommends persons who can be appointed as minister by the President.
  • He can recommend the dissolution of the Lok Sabha to the President at any time.
  • He is the Chairman of the NITI Aayog, National Development Council, National water Resources council.

Qualification of Prime Ministe

  • Be a citizen of India.
  • Have all the Qualification to be a member of Lok Sabha.
  • Be a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha. If the person chosen as the prime minister is neither a member of the Lok Sabha nor the Rajya Sabha at the time of selection, he or she must become a member of either of the houses within six months.
  • He or she should be above 25 years of age as a member of Lok Sabha or above 30 years of age if he or she is a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • Should not hold any office of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or under any local or other authority subject to the control of any of the said Governments.

Salary of Prime Minister

₹280,000 (salary received as a Member of Parliament in Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha) he does not receive extra salary of the post of Prime Minister.

The List of Prime Ministers Till Now





Shri Jawaharlal Nehru                    

15 August, 1947- 27 May, 1964 


Shri Gulzari Lal Nanda

27 May, 1964 - 9 June, 1964


Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri

9 June, 1964 - 11 January, 1966


Shri Gulzari Lal Nanda                  

11 January, 1966 - 24 January, 1966


Mrs. Indira Gandhi

24 January, 1966 - 24 March, 1977


Shri Morarji Desai

24 March, 1977 - 28 July, 1979


Shri Charan Singh

28 July, 1979 - 14 January, 1980


Mrs Indira Gandhi

14 January, 1980 - 31 October, 1984


Shri Rajiv Gandhi

31 October, 1984 - 2 December, 1989


Shri Vishwanath Pratap Singh

2 December, 1989 - 10 November, 1990


Shri  Chandra Shekhar

10 November, 1990 - 21 June, 1991


Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao

21 June, 1991 - 16 May, 1996


Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee

16 May, 1996 - 1 June, 1996


Shri H.D. Deve Gowda

1 June, 1996 - 21 April, 1997


Shri Inder Kumar Gujral

21 April, 1997 - 19 March, 1998


Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee

19 March, 1998 - 22 May, 2004


Dr. Manmohan Singh

22 May, 2004 - 26 May, 2014


Shri Narendra Modi

26 May, 2014 - Till Now

Some Important Facts

  • Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India, and he serves the longest as the Prime Minister.
  • Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel was the first Deputy Prime Minister of India.
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the Prime Minister for the shortest period of 13 days.
  • V.P. Singh was the first Prime Minister to loose-confidence in the House.
  • Jagjivan Ram has the record of serving longest as the Central Cabinet Minister for 32 years.

The Union Council of Ministers

As the Constitution of India provides for a parliamentary system of government modelled on the British pattern, the council of minister headed by the Prime Minister is the real executive authority. Article 74 deals with the status of the council of ministers while Article 75 deals with the appointment, tenure, responsibility, qualification, oath and salaries and allowances of the ministers.

The total number of ministers, including the Prime Minister, in the Council of Ministers, shall not exceed 15% of their total strength of the Lok Sabha (91st Constitutional Amendment Act, 2003)

The Council of Ministers shall be collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha. A person who is not a member of either House can also become a minister but he cannot continue as minister for more than six months unless he secures a seat in either House of Parliament (by-election/ nomination.) Article 75(5)

The Council of ministers consists of three categories: Cabinet ministers, Ministers of State, and Deputy Ministers.

Cabinet Ministers

The cabinet ministers head the important ministers of the Central government like home, Defence, finance and external affairs.

Ministers of State

The ministers of the state can either be given independent charge of Ministers/ departments or can be attached to cabinet ministers.

Deputy Ministers

The deputy ministers are not given independent charge of ministers/ departments and always assist the Cabinet or State Minister or both. They are not members of the Cabinet or State Minister or both. They are not members of the cabinet and do not attend cabinet meetings. Minister may be taken from members of either House and minister who is member of one House has the right to speak and take part in the proceedings of the other House but cannot vote in the House of which he is not a member. [Article 88]

Leave a Comment